The minor annoyances, and some more than minor ones

Venting is healthy.

If it’s important enough to call me, it’s important enough to take 30 seconds and leave a voicemail.  If it’s not important enough to call me and leave a voicemail, a text will suffice.  The worst of all possible worlds is calling, not leaving a message, then having me call you to see what you wanted, only to not have you pick up the phone, end up leaving a voice mail that goes “You called, I have no idea what you wanted, so I’m calling you to tell you that.” or words to that effect, and naturally not have the call returned.

I wish from time to time that I had it in me to treat people worse than they treat me.   For an example of that  see my last post on here.  She apologized for it, a few weeks after the fact.  A part of me was tempted to simply reject the apology out of hand, and maybe do a little more damage where there had been quite a bit done by the series of unfortunate events that had turned her world upside down.

But I didn’t.  I couldn’t very well do that, and look myself in the mirror the next morning, though apparently that’s not a problem for people generally speaking.

Also, if you’re going to invite someone to an outing, and then tell me that it’s a family thing, know that I will find out.

On a happy note, one of the few people who probably treats me better than I treat them will be in Omaha today for the weekend.  This is the best of all possible worlds, so I might as well enjoy myself.

2 Responses to The minor annoyances, and some more than minor ones

  1. Nat says:

    I only didn’t leave a voicemail because I was trying to call and talk to you about something that was specifically relevant to a moment in time… when I was driving past your house and wanted to see if you needed a ride to poker. By the time I texted you and you texted back I would have already been past and that would have been useless. But since you didn’t pick up there was no point in saying “Hey, I’m right by your house and just wanted to see if you needed a ride to poker but now I can’t give you one if you need it because I’m already past your house and I don’t really need you to call me back because the longer this message goes the longer I am from your house which is why I called.”

    Independent from that instance though- I will leave a message when I call from here on out.

  2. Nat says:

    Oh yeah- I am glad he is in town and I’m sorry I blew him off sort of last night. I felt really ill but I am glad he is in from the Windy City 🙂

Leave a Reply

